The Bitterroots: A Novel (Highway Quartet #5) (Mass Market)

The Bitterroots: A Novel (Highway Quartet #5) Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Mar 8 9:45am

Other Books in Series

This is book number 5 in the Highway Quartet series.


The Bitterroots is a riveting new novel from New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author C. J. Box.

The ties that bind can also burn.

Former sheriffs investigator Cassie Dewell is trying to start her life over in private practice. Shes her own boss and answers to no one, and thats just the way she likes it after the past few tumultuous years. All that certainty changes when an old friend calls in a favor: she wants Cassie to help exonerate a man accused of assaulting a young woman from an influential family.

An appealing new heroine, a fast-moving plot, and a memorably nightmarish family make this one of Boxs best.Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Against her own better judgment, Cassie agrees. But out by the Bitterroot Mountains of Montana, twisted family loyalty runs as deep as the ties to the land, and theres always something more to the story. The Kleinsassers have ruled this part of Montana for decades, and the Iron Cross Ranch is their stronghold. They want to see Blake Kleinsasser, the black sheep of the family, put away forever for the assault. As Cassie attempts to uncover the truth, she must fight against a family whose roots are tangled and deadlyas well as the ghosts of her own past that threaten to bring her down.

If Box isnt already on your list, put him there.USA Today

About the Author

C.J. Box is the author of more than a dozen novels including the award-winning Joe Pickett series. Hes the winner of the Anthony Award, Prix Calibre 38 (France), the Macavity Award, the Gumshoe Award, the Barry Award, and an Edgar Award and L.A. Times Book Prize finalist. Open Season was a 2001 New York Times Notable Book. Box lives with his family outside of Cheyenne, Wyoming.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250051073
ISBN-10: 125005107X
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 28th, 2020
Pages: 400
Series: Highway Quartet